The Fascinating History Of Seattle’s Famous Underground Tunnels
Under the streets of Pioneer Square, Seattle Underground, a network of underground corridors and basements. You can see the ruins of shops, hotels, houses still standing. These spaces, after decades have become a history museum.
Before these structures were on the ground floor and all the buildings were made of wood. In 1889, a big fire occurred because an employee of the carpentry workshop had forgotten the glue that he was heating on a gasoline fire. The fire spread directly to the covered ground, John the employee tried to extinguish the fire with water which made the situation worse.
Everyone was able to get out of the building, but the fire was out of control. When it was finally extinguished around 3 a.m., the damage was massive, destroying everything in its path. The losses were immense and almost the entire center of the city was wiped out as more than 5,000 people lost their jobs.
The underground includes many basements left to rot, it remained in this state, abandoned until 1950. Until the day when Bill Speidel, historian and columnist, created the “Bill Speidel” Underground Tour” because for him these underground ruins could
He started doing tours for visitors who wanted to see the place. The place was becoming more and more popular with tourists, the structures were renovated making the place attractive.